Wayne Toups, Steve Riley, Wilson Savoy:
The Band Courtbouillon


Wayne Toups, Steve Riley, Wilson Savoy:
The Band Courtbouillon


Released in 2011

Three of the most prominent and entertaining personalities (not to mention incredibly talented accordionists) come together for this GRAMMY-winning, good-time album. The Band Courtbouillon is just a few larger than life Cajun musicians sitting down to play the music they love—the music they were brought up on.

Download the digital liner notes

Add To Cart

Free Bonus Downloads

Sample Tracks

“It’s all about the music!” Wayne said to me the first time Courtbouillon played together. That makes sense on a lot of levels. Here are three guys, leaders of three of the most successful contemporary Cajun bands, drawn together by nostalgia for the music they grew up listening to. I hesitate to say “music of the past.” These aren’t old songs, these are their songs- our songs- they’re as timeless to the Cajuns as the Star-Spangled Banner is to Americans. Cajun music is folk music- it’s music by the people for the people, but most of you know Wayne, Steve and Wilson as the great bandleaders they are, standing onstage in front of thousands giving themselves to their audience. Here’s a chance to have them in your living room as three friends playing for each other. What a treat! The record was made with that feeling in mind. I wanted to capture that raw passion coming from these guys as they poured themselves into these beautiful songs and the job was easy enough! Standing around one day after a session Wayne looked at us with tears in his eyes and thanked us for letting him be a part of this. This music means so much to these guys. I hope you enjoy it!


  1. Courtbouillon
  2. It’s Lonesome in Prison
  3. The Bosco Blues
  4. Convict Waltz
  5. La Vie Malheureuse
  6. Chère Alice
  7. Hathaway Two-Step
  8. Nobody Wants Me
  9. The Patassa Two-Step
  10. La Valse de la Belle
  11. Les Flammes de l’Enfer
  12. The Kaplan Waltz
  13. The Midland Two-Step
  14. She Made Me Lose My Mind


Wayne Toups - Accordion and Vocals
Steve Riley - Accordion, Guitar and Vocals
Wilson Savoy - Accordion, Fiddle, Guitar and Vocals
Eric Frey - Bass